Do NOT Use TurboTax to File Your Taxes

Alex Mell-Taylor
17 min readApr 17, 2020

How TurboTax, H&R Block, and other members of the Free File Alliance have been scamming us for 20 years. And what it might do to your stimulus check.

It haunts me in my dreams. When I go to sleep, I hear the electronic jingle loop in my head: “all people, all people, all people are tax people.”

If you have not had the disprivilege to know what I am talking about, this little ditty is part of an ad blitz by Intuit to get you to use their tax software Turbo Tax. The ad involves a montage of various people awkwardly dancing as they do their taxes on their phones. The repetitive jingle then loops over,

…and over,

…and over again.

It’s the type of earworm that sticks with you long after the ad ends. While I love the artists who made “All People Are Tax People” (Calmatic directed it with Baltimore’s’s TT The Artist doing vocals), the ad is very transparently an attempt by Intuit to use repetition to get consumers to pay for a product that, for many, should be free.

I want to state that again: as of 2020, all Americans who make $69,000 a year or less are being scammed if they pay ANYTHING to file their federal taxes.

The tax industry has recently invested in an intense ad campaign this year to promote themselves, and the reason for…

--

--