I Don't Even Agree With Me

Thoughts on a decade of doing "content"

Alex Mell-Taylor
2 min read3 days ago
Photo by Intricate Explorer on Unsplash

One of my first articles was a review of the show Good Omens (2019-present). I didn't like it at the time because I considered the unstated romantic relationship between the demon Crowley (played by David Tennant) and an angel named Aziraphale (played by Michael Sheen) in the first season to be queerbaiting.

It's an analysis I'm still conflicted on, but content-aside, boy, did I use acephobic reasoning to make my arguments. I essentially alleged that the relationship was not valid unless we got sexual or intimate displays from the would-be couple, and Future Me does not agree with this sentiment at all. A relationship does not need to be sexual or romantic to be queer, and I regret ever alleging that.

Maybe one day I will put out an updated version of my thoughts on that series, but I bring it up now because it's an article I think about as a time I, in a tiny way, hurt others with a bad take. I have been writing for over six years now (and before that, I had a very opinionated YouTube channel). We are talking about over a decade of content, and I look back at half of it and cringe.

"Did I really think that?" I ask myself as I reread an opinion that I philosophically disagree with now.

This has been a Patreon-exclusive post. Become a Patron to read the rest of it!

https://www.patreon.com/posts/107349899

--

--